A sacrament is a visible sign instituted by Jesus Christ in what is known as the ‘new law’ (Catechism of the Catholic Church, Article 1210), and in which every person can meet with him and receive his grace (the free and undeserved favour of God on all of humanity).
The Catholic Church recognises seven sacraments in total:
• Baptism
• Confirmation
• The Eucharist
• Penance
• Anointing of the Sick
• Holy Orders
• Matrimony

The Sacraments of Christian Initiation

Baptism, Confirmation and the Eucharist are known as the Sacraments of Christian Initiation. They are the very foundation of the Christian life. In Baptism, a person is formally “inducted” into the Church, whether during childhood or adulthood. At Confirmation, an individual is confirmed in the faith. They promise, with the support of a sponsor, to continue to live out their beliefs, and so have completed their initiation the receipt of Baptismal grace. The final Sacrament of Christian Initiation is the Eucharist: the “source and summit of the Christian life” (Catechism of the Catholic Church, Article 1324; Lumen Gentium, 11).

As Catholics, we believe that Jesus is fully present in the Eucharist, through his sacrificing himself for our sins through death. As a result of this ultimate act of love, humanity can live on earth in full communion with God and each other free from the influence of original sin, as caused by the betrayal of God by Adam and Eve in the garden of Eden (the Book of Genesis, Chapter 3). In participating in the Mass, and when those who are baptised and confirmed partake in the receiving of Holy Communion (providing there is no reason that they should not do so), they are united to Jesus Christ in body and blood, soul and divinity.

The Sacraments of Healing

<To be updated>

The Sacraments of Matrimony and Holy Orders

<To be updated>


*Featured image: Adoration of the Blessed Sacrament – Fr Lawrence Lew